Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Champions Trophy 2017: BCCI Announces India Squad | AIB

BCCI have confirmed they will compete in the upcoming Champions Trophy that will be held in England and Wales from 1-18 June after the Special General Meeting (SGM) on May 7th in Delhi.

The selection committee has picked the squad for the ICC event held on Monday, May 8, in New Delhi. Earlier, BCCI missed a deadline to name a squad for the event after the ICC changed its revenue-sharing model, the Indian board decided to send a legal notice to the cricket world body and even to pull out from the tournament.

Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) has advised the BCCI to meet a selection committee and to announce the Indian squad for the Champions Trophy immediately. Also, present joint secretary Amitabh Choudhary has given responsibility for negotiating with ICC. The CoA also doubted the manner in which BCCI had negotiated the revenue model with the ICC at a meet held in Dubai lately.

“The ICC welcomed the decision of the BCCI SGM this morning to confirm the participation of defending champions India in next month’s Champions Trophy. The hundreds of millions of cricket fans around the globe just want to see good cricket, and now we can all look ahead to a grand event in England and Wales beginning on 1st June,” ICC said in a statement.

The new ICC reforms have made worse for BCCI, especially the governance structure and even world cricket body will get to choose which member unit from BCCI should attend the ICC conferences. At recent ICC meeting, the BCCI was defeated 13-1 in a bid to halt the revised deal which considerably lessens India’s share from global events in the upcoming years.

Despite being inappropriate to participate in duties of the BCCI according to the Lodha references, the SGM observed N Srinivasan and Niranjan Shah taking part in the meet. The former joined the SGM through a video conference while the latter was present in person. Both are over the age-cap of 70 directed by the Lodha reforms.

However, the CoA had filed a status report regarding this with the Supreme Court and decision on whether they are eligible or not is yet to be declared, which let the duo to take part in the SGM.

The Indian Squad for Champion Trophy 2017:

Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey.

Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik on standby for the tournament.

Leave a Response

All India Blogging
All India Blogging is your one-stop destination to discover things that will amuse you, thrill you and entertain you.